Why should one play Old School RuneScape?

Developed by Jagex Game Studios, Old School RuneScape (also known as OSRS) first debuted as a browser game in early 2001. The game is based on the medieval era and blends various elements from the fantasy genre. RuneScape is one of the longest running massively multiplayer online role-playing games (MMORPG) available today and has over millions of fans worldwide.



If you’re not playing the game already, this article will tell you why you should.


OSRS is set in the fictional world of Gielinor, which is fractured into several kingdoms, cities, and regions. Once you sign up, you’re prompted to create an avatar for your character. The game begins in Ashdale, an isolated island in Gielinor. There the new player is introduced to Gudrik who provides a detailed tutorial of the game. The tutorial introduces the new player to the game’s interface and the key concepts.

The game doesn’t have any fixed storyline; it is a classless progression system where players are free to decide their goals and objectives. You choose what your story will be. However, to help the players decide, OSRS provides a Path System which points them to content based on their choice of three categories – questing, combat and non-combat skills.

After the completion of the tutorial, players can explore different cities and towns on their own. They can easily travel across Gielinor via a number of ways, such as walking, charter ships or by using magical spells.


Old School RuneScape has the following features:

  • Vast world available for exploration-

Players can freely move about Gielinor and explore the different types of environments it has to offer.

  • Smooth game controls-

The game controls are fairly simple. All the movement takes place through point-and-click.

  • Train your skills-

Players can train in 27 skills. These skills range from the simple ones such as cooking or mining to the more advanced ones such as magic or runecrafting. Players are rewarded with experience points in a skill when they use it. For instance, a player can train his mining skill by mining an ore and when he gathers enough experience points, his character can ‘level up’.

  • Engage in combat-

OSRS features a challenging combat system which provides the players with a wide range of abilities to choose from. They can choose from a number of weapon and armor combinations to prepare for battles. Each armor and weapon has a unique set of strengths and weaknesses which come in handy in different situations.
Players can engage in combat with both NPC characters such as monsters and other real players. Before engaging, it is important to check the combat level of the enemy to learn how powerful they are. Life points are indicated by a green and red bar above the player’s head. If a player’s life points go down to 0, he will die. He can avoid death by eating food to heal his injuries.

There are three styles of combat available in the game: melee ranged and magic. Melee combat refers to close-range attacks with the enemy. Ranged combat makes use of projectile weapons such as arrows or knives. Magic combat focuses on attacking the enemy by casting spells. These three styles together form the Combat Triangle.

  • Take part in interesting quests-

Quests refer to a number of tasks that the players can complete to gain rewards. These rewards include money, quest points, unique items, access to new areas and experience points for skills. Some quests require the player to group with other players or engage in combat with other players. Access to some of the quests requires a minimum level of some skills, quest points, combat level or completion of other quests. The quests are classified into six categories based on difficulty level and requirements: Novice, Intermediate, Experienced, Master, Grandmaster and Special.

  • Play Mini-games to win rewards-

As the name suggests, mini-games are smaller games which are not directly connected to the storyline. Completion of these mini-games rewards the players with experience points and other important items. They are represented by the red star icon on the map.

The third version of OSRS retains its original features and seamlessly adapts them to appeal to the present generation of gamers. Even after seventeen years, Old School RuneScape continues to exhibit the same charm that shot it into popularity in the first place.